Issues importing the module into win7, ps 3.0

Feb 26, 2013 at 9:15 PM
I'm fairly new to Powershell but not new to scripted and automated testing. Trying to import the UIAutomation.0.8.5.NET40 dll and I'm getting an error:

Import-Module : Could not load file or assembly
'file:///C:\Windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\UIAutomation\UIAutomation.dll' or one of its dependencies. Operation
is not supported. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80131515)

I'm running Powershell 3.0 as Administrator, with my execution policy currently set wide open as unrestricted. I've even downloaded version 0.7.5 to grab the certificate and went through installing the certificate, still not getting past this error. I've even tried the Net3.5 version on Powershell 2.0 in Windows Server 2008R2 which does load but gives me some different errors:

Import-Module : Cannot load Windows PowerShell snap-in C:\Windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\UIAutomation\
UIAutomation.dll because of the following error: Unable to load one or more of the requested types. Retrieve the Loader
Exceptions property for more information.
Loader Exceptions:
Could not load file or assembly 'UIAutomationTypes, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35'
or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
Could not load file or assembly 'UIAutomationTypes, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35'
Could not load file or assembly 'PresentationFramework, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e
35' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
Could not load file or assembly 'PresentationFramework, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e
35' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
At line:1 char:14

Any help you can give is appreciated. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Thanks in advance.

JMH
Coordinator
Feb 26, 2013 at 10:19 PM